Sinigang sa Miso

Sinigang is a traditional Filipino favorite recipe. It is a sour soup usually made of Tamarind or guava with lots of vegetables like kangkong (also known as water spinach, morning glory, swamp cabbage) or mustard, sitaw (or string beans), raddish, okra, tomato, chillies and others. Most Filipinos prefer pork belly for their sinigang or spare ribs. Another variation for Sinigang recipe is Sinigang sa Miso. Miso (yellow variety) is very popular in Japan and has gaining global prominence in terms of cookery.  It is made of fermented soy. Experts say it has a lot of health benefits like preventing high blood pressure as well as certain cancers like breast cancer.

I began to like Miso when I started to get fond of Japanese food as normally a Bento box would have a miso soup available.

Sinigang sa Miso blends well with seafood. Personally, I like Salmon Head for my Sinigang sa Miso although you can use Maya-Maya (snapper), bangus or even tilapia.

The best Seafood Sinigang I tasted is not actually from a fine dining restaurant but from a Food Court outlet called Sizzling Seafoods. Most of SM Food courts have this joint. I remembered me and some former colleagues have to wait every Saturday lunch time to eat in the Sizzling Seafood in SM Megamall as we have to work half day every Saturday then. Their rice are served in halved coconut shelf..really yummy.

I was craving for Sinigang because it has been a long time that I last taste my favorite dish and for the past 2 weeks, I’ve been eating a lot of meat, I decided to cook Sinigang sa Miso. Since I cannot find any Salmon Head in the express grocery near my apartment, I just bought a Nile Tilapia which was the only available fish that time. Then I bought some vegetables and went straight home.

Here are the steps in preparing Sinigang sa Miso:

Clean the Tilapia (1/2 Kilo would make about 3 servings) and season with salt.

Prepare the other ingredients:

About 6 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 whole white onion, minced
6 pcs. tomato, minced
A bunch of mustard leaves, roots end removed
1  medium sized raddish, sliced thinly
2-3 pcs. of Chillies (siling haba)
1/4 cup miso or 1 sachet of instant Sinigang sa Miso mix
5-6 cups of water
cooking oil
Fish sauce (patis) to taste

Heat oil in a pot. Saute garlic, onion, tomatoes. Add miso (if you are using Sinigang sa Miso mix, you can add this later when you put the water) and continue sauteeing until the vegetables and tomatoes are tender and miso starting to have oily surface.

Add water and cover until it boils. Add the fish (if you use Sinigang sa Miso mix, now is the time to pour all the contents of the pack).  Season with fish sauce (patis) to taste. Immediately add the vegetables and Chillie (Siling Haba). Let it boil for another 2 minutes. Do not overcook as the fish will tend to break and vegetables will wilt if overcooked. The heat of the soup will eventually cook the vegetables and fish.

Serve while its hot.

Filipinos usually have fish sauce in a soy dish with some squeezed chillies in their dining table as seasoning and to fit their taste.

Enjoy dinner!

10 Responses to “Sinigang sa Miso”

  1. Sinigang Says:

    Hi!

    Your Sinigang looks really delicious!

    I’m collecting a list of the best sinigang recipes in my blog, and I included your sinigang recipe (just a link though, hope you don’t mind).
    Keep in touch!

    Tanya Regala

  2. Sinigang Recipes Recipe | Kumain.com Says:

    [...] Kiko’s Sinigang sa Miso [...]

  3. it`s good

  4. Karina Pangilinan Says:

    sarap

  5. Thanks for sharing, i stumbled into your website looking for a recipe where i could use miso.

  6. [...] I got my pay cheque, I want to treat Annie, Robie and I a very delicious food called Sinigang sa Miso. The link’s recipe is kinda similar, but we used different veggies and fish used. I have my [...]

  7. Oh yea!it was good!cooking sinigang sa miso first time!perfect ulam pag umuulan!hahaha thanks!

  8. Emmy Lou S. Garcia Says:

    i have tried cooking this fish dish with sinigang sa miso mix. I added more veggies to it, eggplant and string beans, but used pechay because i couldn’t find mustard leaves in the market. oh, my family loved it. My nephew commented the sinigang tasted mjuch more delicious with lots of vegetables!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 737 other followers

