Sinigang na ulo ng Salmon sa Miso (Salmon Head in Sour soup with Miso)

I remembered few years ago while working in Ortigas Center, I am fervently looking forward to my lunch date with colleagues almost every Saturdays. We work half day and immediately we troop to either SM Megamall or Robinsons Galleria for lunch. Our favorite stop is the food court not only because it is more affordable but also because our favorite food, Sinigang na Salmon sa Miso can be bought in the outlet called Sizzling Seafoods.

A serving of Sinigang na Salmon then costs about PHP 85 which is good for 2 people, if I can clearly remember. We will just order an extra soup for about PHP 20 plus bowl of rice served in coconut shell. There goes our sumptuous lunch.

To prepare this dish, you will need the following:

1 fresh Salmon head with few slices of meat (about 500 grams)
1  large onion, minced
3 large tomatoes, diced
6-8 stalks of mustard leaves, removing the roots and cutting into 2 inch strips
1 pc  medium labanos (radish), sliced thinly
1 pack Sinigang sa Miso mix (if you need the authentic miso, you would need about 1/4 cups + 1 cup of tamarind extract)
2-3 pcs. long green chillies (siling pang sigang)
5-6 cups water
Patis (fish sauce to taste)



Bring water to a boil and add the onion, tomatoes and sinigang mix. Season with fish sauce to taste. Add the Salmon and Chillies  (you noticed I used red chillies here cos I like a bit spicy) and simmer for about 2 minutes. Add the labanos and mustard stalks and simmer for another 2 minutes.  Remove from fire and add the mustard leaves. The remaining heat will blanch the leaf but not overcooked.

Serve while hot.

(Pardon me if the picture here has no presentation. My friends and I are so hungry that time so I just hurriedly take a snapshot of my cooking. But I tell you, everyone enjoyed the meal).

2 Responses to “Sinigang na ulo ng Salmon sa Miso (Salmon Head in Sour soup with Miso)”

  1. Hi!

    Your Sinigang looks really delicious!

    I’m collecting a list of the best sinigang recipes in my blog, and I included your sinigang recipe (just a link though, hope you don’t mind).

    Keep in touch!

    Tanya Regala

  2. Sinigang Recipes Recipe | Kumain.com Says:

    [...] Kiko’s Sinigang na Ulo ng Salmon sa Miso (Salmon Head in Sour Soup with Miso) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 737 other followers

